Audio Readings September 26, 2012 Wednesday of the 25th Week in Ordinary Time

Proverbs 30:5-9 Psalm 119:29, 72, 89, 101, 104, 163;Luke 9:1-6

Saints Cosmas and Damian, Martyrs

“He sent them to proclaim the kingdom of God.” (Luke 9:2)

Anyone who has been present at the birth of a baby would have to admit it’s a breathtaking experience. It is truly awe inspiring to see a new life come forth, to hear a strong cry coming from one so fragile, and to see the mother weep tears of joy that miraculously wash away the pain of labor. How privileged we feel to behold it!

How much more awesome it is to witness the life of Jesus come to birth in someone as he or she turns to the Lord in conversion! How amazing that we can behold heaven touching earth in so dramatic and personal a fashion!

Do you know what’s even more amazing? We aren’t simply onlookers. We can be active participants in the process. We are essential, necessary co-workers with Jesus in his plan of salvation. In fact, Jesus has called each of us to become his hands, feet, and voice in our world today. As he did with the Twelve, he has sum­moned us, given us a share in his power, and sent us out.

Granted, we are merely jars of clay—cracked pots, as one author put it. Still, in our weakness and frailty, Jesus wants to make us into vessels of honor, carrying within our­selves his presence and his promises. He knows how weak we are, but he also knows that he has redeemed us and made us into a new creation. We are so much more than our human weaknesses or failings! The question is: “will I take hold of my heritage as a child of God?”

The apostles in today’s Gospel reading “went from village to village proclaiming the good news” (Luke 9:6). Limited novices though they were, they went out looking for peo­ple to convert. And God went with them and worked through them— despite their flaws.

Follow the apostles’ lead. Embrace your calling to bring people from death to life. It doesn’t take much more than an eager heart and a touch of courage. As you step out and try, you’ll find God filling the gaps in you—and changing you in the process!

“Lord, I am amazed at your awesome calling. Empty me of myself and fill me with you so that I can bring your life wherever I go!” ~WAU

 

 

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

