Audio Readings October 17, 2012 Wednesday of the 28th Week in Ordinary Time

Saint Ignatius of Antioch, Bishop and Martyr

“The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace … “(Galatians 5:22)

It’s very difficult to read this list and not see all the ways we fall short. But before you start beating yourself up, try to look at this list from the point of view of the One who gave up his life out of love for you. To do this, imagine that your heart is an orchard full of many different kinds of fruit trees, and picture yourself walking through that orchard with Jesus.

As you walk together, you notice that Jesus looks happier and hap­pier—and that makes you nervous. How can he not see the scrag­gly bushes that stick out like sore thumbs—moments when pride or moodiness overtook you? What about that time when you said the wrong thing and ended up hurt­ing your neighbor’s feelings? Surely he can see that event, ugly as a tall weed?

But then he stops and tells you how much he is enjoying the walk. He starts pointing out all the different fruit he is seeing on the trees—fruit that you never really noticed. He sees the way you held your tongue when you wanted to lash out at a co-worker. He sees the way you went out of your way to help a neighbor and the way you are serving your family. As you see this orchard through his eyes, you are amazed at how much fruit there really is.

Yes, he sees the occasional weed or bad specimen of fruit, but he doesn’t look too worried. “This doesn’t bother me too much,” he tells you. “I love you, and I’ve been helping you to grow all this fruit for so many years. I haven’t stopped working in your orchard, and I see all the different ways you are wel­coming me. With the power of my cross, with the grace of my indwell­ing Spirit, it’s only a matter of time before the good fruit overtakes the weeds. Now just imagine how much more fruit you would bear if you spent just a little more time with me every day.”

“Lord, I want to surrender to your Spirit. Help me to follow you every day so that I can produce more and more fruit through your work in my heart.” ~WAU

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

