Audio Readings November 18, 2012 33rd Sunday in Ordinary Time

Daniel 12:1-3; Psalm 16:5, 8-11; Hebrews 10:11-14, 18;Mark 13:24-32

“Of that day or hour, no one knows.” (Mark 13:32)

Let’s take a short quiz. The first question is a general one: what goals do you have for your life? The second is a bit more specific: what are your goals for the next five years? And the third is even more specific: what are your goals for the next year? Take a few minutes to write down your answers.

Now one final question: imag­ine that you knew Jesus was coming back tomorrow. How would your responses to the previous three ques­tions differ? When a friar asked St. Francis what he would do in this sit­uation, Francis, who was gardening at the time, said: “I would keep hoe­ing my garden.”

What about you? Would you keep going about your business? Most of us would make some last-minute changes. The lines at the confes­sional booth would probably reach out the church door and down the street for a few miles. Local parishes would run out of hosts because of the many people coming in for their last Mass. The phone lines would prob­ably be jammed with people calling family and friends trying to make eleventh-hour reparations. What about that last call to the poor? With no need to keep food stocked up, we can hope that people would be will­ing to give more to those who are hungry—sort of a last meal for the poor.

But this is all fanciful specula­tion. Jesus told us that no one knows when the end will come—even he doesn’t know! So our best strategy is to live each day as if it were our last. We should try our best always to be at peace with the Lord and with the people around us. We should also make sure we are taking care of the needy in our midst. Then, whenever Jesus returns, we’ll pass the quiz with no problem at all.

“Lord, help me to keep my eyes open for your presence and my heart fixed on you. Lord, I want to be ready to greet you when you come again in glory!”~WAU

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

