Audio Readings March 21, 2013 5th Week of Lent


5th Week of Lent
Genesis 17:3-9;Psalm 105:4-9; John 8:51-59

Recall the wondrous deeds he has done. (Psalm 105:5)

Whether it’s forgotten birthdays, straying pens, or faces we can’t place, it’s annoying to lose track of the little things. Forgetfulness becomes downright tragic, though, if we lose sight of the big picture—what life is all about. This is why Psalm 105 is so insistent in its call to remember and praise God for his “wondrous deeds.”

This is perfect encouragement as we head toward our Holy Week celebration of the most wondrous deeds ever. So here is a suggestion for taking on the kind of remembering that leads to gratitude, joy, and transformation: take God’s “wondrous deeds” personally.

The people of Israel told and retold the stories of how God made them a people, handing down their stories from one generation to the next. Especially in recounting the pivotal story of their deliverance from slavery, the retelling took the form of a “you are there” Passover meal.

It still does. Observing biblical and traditional customs, Jewish people today recount their liberation in a way that makes it personal and present: “This is because of what the Lord did for me when I came out of Egypt” (Exodus 13:8).

In Christ, we can say the same. Israel’s “wondrous deeds” have become part of our history as well, and they are fulfilled in Jesus’ cross and resurrection. As Catholics, we believe that every Eucharist reenacts these saving acts and makes them present to us. The question is: are we present to them?

This Holy Week and Easter, take the story personally. Enter into the reality of the Last Supper, the Passover meal where Jesus provides a way to remember and receive him. He did this for me. Watch with Jesus in the garden, where he suffers so intensely as he awaits his betrayer. He did this for me. See him dragged before the high priest, Herod, Pilate, the jeering crowd. He did this for me. Walk to Calvary, stand at the cross, mourn with Mary. And know, at every step of the way: he did this for me. This is how much he loves me.

Then, having recalled and relived these “wondrous deeds” that God has wrought, you will be readier than ever for Easter rejoicing.

“Lord Jesus, let me never forget that you did all of this for me!”~WAU

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

