Audio Readings May 31, 8th Week in Ordinary Time


The Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Zephaniah 3:14-18; (Psalm) Isaiah 12:2-6; Luke 1:39-46

My spirit rejoices in God my Savior. (Luke 1:47)

Today imagine you are Mary, taking the long journey to visit Elizabeth’s home. You are filled with joy as you walk along, thinking of all that God has done for you:

“My spirit rejoices in God my Savior! To be blessed with a child is truly wondrous. But that I would become the mother of the Messiah is an honor beyond reckoning. As you allowed your servant Hannah to conceive the prophet Samuel even though she was barren, you have promised the same to me (1 Samuel 1, 2). But I have conceived through the power of the Holy Spirit! I cannot understand how this is so, but still I delight in doing your will, O Lord!

“My spirit rejoices in God my Savior! I praise you, Lord, that through me you will lift up all the lowly of the world. Not only those without bread, but those without hope, without peace, and without love. I praise you that generations to come will look to me as the most blessed of all women, someone who will point the way to their Redeemer. Thank you for allowing me to become the ark of the new covenant, a covenant that will last forever.

“My spirit rejoices in God my Savior! As you used Jael and Judith to defeat Israel’s enemies, you will use me to defeat our greatest enemy—sin (Judges 5:24; Judith 18). Through my son Jesus, you will bring freedom to countless souls who have been held captive by Satan’s lies. I am amazed that a child of my own womb is destined to bring healing to the sick and justice to the oppressed!”

What is your meditation right now? You too can say, “The Mighty One has done great things for me” (Luke 1:49). He has given you the incalculable riches of his grace, eternal life in his Son! So fill your heart and mind with these truths, and then let new words of blessing flow from you to your heavenly Father.

“Thank you, Father, for saving me from sin and death. I give glory to your name, Jesus, for having rescued me. May I never fail to praise you for your salvation!”~WAU

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

