Audio Readings , December 20, 2013 3rd Week of Advent

3rd Week of Advent
Isaiah 7:10-14; Psalm 24:1-6;Luke 1:26-38
I am the handmaid of the Lord. (Luke 1:38)

This moment in history is so poignant. You can just imagine all of creation, including the angels, stopping and holding their breath in anticipation of Mary’s response to God’s request of her to be Jesus’ mother. You can feel Mary’s sense of fear, wonder, and doubt in the way that Luke describes the scene. Who? Me? How? But she overcomes the fear and answers with humble confidence, “I am the handmaid of the Lord” (Luke 1:38).

God had a special place in history for Mary, a truly blessed mission. But he has a mission for you too. Even though your mission may not seem as important as being the Mother of God, Jesus loves you just as much, and his mission for you is important as well. He has plans for you that he carefully put into his blueprint before time even began. Imagine God’s breathless delight when he hears you say yes to him.

Who? Me? How?

As you go about your day today, try to say yes to God in as many ways as you can. Start by saying yes with your heart when God tells you that you are special to him, so special that no one fills your place in his heart but you.

Say yes when you start to wonder if he has great plans for you.

Say yes to any joy or hardship that he puts in your path.

Say yes if someone wrongs you, and you have the chance to forgive him or her.

Say yes when the Spirit prompts you to contact someone you’ve lost touch with.

Say yes to the joy that the Lord is wanting to surround you with.

Believe that God loves you just as you are. He delights in you and wants to use you as an agent of change and forgiveness in this world to bring about the next. Hold on to that joy this Advent! Keep that “yes” in your heart and in the spring in your step. And try your best to spread this confidence to everyone you know. Yes, you are loved by God!

“Lord, I know that I am uniquely yours. Help me to feel this in my heart and take that confidence to say yes to the life and the mission that you have planned for me.”
~WAU

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

