Audio Readings January 10, 2014 Christmas Weekday


Christmas Weekday
Psalm 147:12-15, 19-20; 1 John 5:5-13;Luke 5:12-16
Lord, if you wish, you can make me clean. (Luke 5:12)

To be an outcast, banished from society, must be a disastrous experience. Can you even imagine what it would be like to be told, “You don’t belong here anymore”? Yet this was the lot of those afflicted with skin diseases like leprosy in the time of Jesus. Having to live outside of town, these people were deprived of friends, family, and even religious observance. And this was on top of the physical suffering and decay of their diseases.

We can see one result of this devastating experience in today’s Gospel reading. The leprous man had no doubt heard talk of this young rabbi, of his ability and disposition to heal, of his kindness to those cast out by society. So when he had the chance to meet Jesus, he knew just what to do. He prostrated himself and proclaimed that he knew Jesus was able to heal him. He knew what he needed, he knew Jesus could help him, and he wasn’t about to miss his chance.

Praise God, his hope was not disappointed! While the people around Jesus may have cringed or turned away, Jesus didn’t hesitate. No, he reached out and touched the man, even though he was “full of leprosy” (Luke 5:12). He seems to be saying, “Of course I want to heal you. That’s why I’m here!” In that moment, Jesus gave back to the man all that he had lost: his health, his home, his family, and his right to worship at the Temple. It didn’t take convincing, bargaining, pleading, or perseverance. With one simple cry to Jesus, he was healed!

How about us? We all have the disease of sin, and it threatens to isolate us just as much as that skin disease isolated the man in today’s Gospel passage. But remember Jesus’ response to him: “I do will it. Be made clean” (Luke 5:13). This is how he sees us when we come to him in the Sacrament of Reconciliation. “Of course I’ll forgive you!” He is always willing to touch us, to heal us, and to bring us back to our Father. So no matter how “leprous” your sin may make you feel, throw yourself at Jesus’ feet. You won’t be disappointed.

“Lord, teach me my need for you. Help me to put myself fully in your hands.”~WAU

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

