Audio Readings January 11, 2015 The Baptism of the Lord

Isaiah 42:1-4, 6-7
Psalm 29:1-4, 9-10
Acts 10:34-38

Mark 1:7-11

You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased. (Mark 1:11)

“He wants to be the bride at every wedding, the corpse at every funeral, and the baby at every christening.” Ironically, the subject of this cynical remark was a world leader. Even though he often commanded center stage, he still craved attention. Deep down, most people do. To varying degrees, we’re like those little kids who want someone to notice and affirm us: “Watch me jump! Look at this trick! See what I can do!”

Today’s celebration conveys a message about this human craving. In fact, you might call the Baptism of the Lord the “Feast of Full Attention.” The spotlight is on Jesus, who comes to John as just another penitent in the crowd. Then suddenly, he is singled out as uniquely cherished: the heavens are torn apart, the Spirit descends, and the Father’s voice declares him “my beloved Son.” What a stunning affirmation of Jesus’ importance!

But here’s something just as stunning: the Sacrament of Baptism brings us right into Jesus’ own relationship with the Father! You don’t have to strive for attention, wonder who you are, or question whether your life matters. If you’ve been baptized into Christ, what the Father spoke to Jesus, he speaks to you: “You are my beloved son. You are my beloved daughter.” Yes, you need to be transformed into the likeness of Christ. And yes, that takes time. But as you make that journey, you can rest secure that you are already God’s beloved child. Everything flows from that.

Today, as the Christmas season comes to a close, why not give one last gift? Offer God your full attention, as you reflect on your baptism. Let him reveal you to yourself and show you how greatly you are loved. As you give God your full attention, you will discover how much you have his.

“Abba! Father! Thank you that I am your beloved child.”~WAU

 

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

