Audio Readings February 8, 2015 5th Sunday in Ordinary Time

Job 7:1-4, 6-7
Psalm 147:1-6
1 Corinthians 9:16-19, 22-23

Mark 1:29-39

He cured many who were sick. (Mark 1:34)

The Gospels are filled with accounts of Jesus’ ability to heal the sick and deliver the troubled. It seems that everywhere he went, people flocked to him because of his authority over diseases and demons. Perhaps they came for healing, but they stayed for his message. Clearly, Jesus’ healings, awesome as they were, played an even more important role: they opened the door for him to preach the gospel.

In the past forty years, the practice of healing prayer has made a comeback in the Church. Healing Masses are now a regular part of parish life in many places. A number of parishes have also established prayer teams that specifically pray for healing. And God is rewarding these efforts!

It is just as true today as it was in Jesus’ time: God uses healings to tell the world, “I am for real. Come to me. Let me heal you. Let me redeem you.” People always pay attention to healings. They know how to see them for the signs they truly are. When they hear about someone being healed through prayer, they find it easier to believe in the Lord.

So let’s tell Jesus that we believe in his power to heal. Let’s ask him to give us the gift of healing so that we can show the world that he is real.

The rest is simple: step out and give it a try. Believe that God wants to heal people. Believe, also, that he wants to use you as his instrument of healing. Begin by offering to pray over your spouse or child with a cold. Ask a friend or a co-worker if you can pray with him or her, whether for their own needs or the needs of a loved one. Don’t be afraid to ask the Lord for his grace. Step out in faith, and you just may see a miracle. If nothing else happens, you will be sharing a gesture of love and compassion!

“Jesus, I believe you can heal. Now help me believe that you can heal people through me!”~WAU

 

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

