Audio Readings July 13, 2015 15th Week in Ordinary Time

Exodus 1:8-14, 22

Psalm 124:1-8

Matthew 10:34–11:1

Saint Henry (Optional Memorial)

Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth. (Psalm 124:8)

My help is in the name of the Lord. Yes, God, I need you today! I know that if you aren’t with me, I will be swallowed alive by jealousy or anxiety or something else that will weaken, or weary, or immobilize me. Pessimism or resentment or anxiety or arrogance will rush over me. But blessed are you, Lord, for you will not abandon me to these predators.

Father, it’s not only wolfish sin that threatens me. Without your help, the slow, steady drip-drip-drip of minor mishaps, petty annoyances, and nagging doubts will surely wear away the faith I started out with. Slow traffic. Red lights. Questions asked for the hundredth—or millionth—time. Tantrums. Dirty dishes left in the sink, again! Self-condemnation. White lies and subtle compromises. Boredom. Little things that so capture my attention and irritate my soul that by nighttime, I am tied up in them, heart and mind.

You are my help, Lord, all day long, as you break those snares and free me! Your name is a strong tower in which I find shelter from the sin and wavering doubt that seem to be all around me. In your name, I can call a halt to the slow erosion of my faith. You fill my heart with your life—with joy, comfort, and a sense of security. You heal me. You shower my sin and failures with mercy, and you strengthen my frailty and vulnerability with grace. You inspire me to turn from sin, and draw me to yourself.

Father, who or what could possibly be stronger than you? Nothing in all of creation! Not the rulers of this world nor the powers of hell, not even death itself. When I turn to you for help, when I call on your name, I place myself in the refuge you have carved out for all those who are humble and lowly. You who made heaven and earth are wiser and stronger than any created thing. You give me the strength to live for you, and help me to tell people all about your goodness and your salvation.

“Yes, indeed, my help is in the name of the Lord, ‘who made heaven and earth’ (Psalm 124:8)!”~WAU

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

