Audio Readings August 14, 2015

Joshua 24:1-13

Psalm 136:1-3, 16-18, 21-22, 24

Matthew 19:3-12

Saint Maximilian Kolbe, Priest and Martyr (Memorial)

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his mercy endures forever. (Psalm 136:1)

Yes, Lord, I give you thanks for your mercy and your faithfulness toward me. I know that you love me, and I want to love you. I know that you are loyal to me, and I strive to be just as loyal to you. But even more, you are all these things to me and more (merciful, faithful, loving, loyal, generous) when I prove to be unfaithful or unreliable in my relationship with you. Thank you, faithful One, for your friendship with me, which endures forever!

Lord, your love for me is constant and unwavering, even when I turn from you—when I don’t talk to you or spend time listening to you, even when I go for days without thinking about you! Your love neither wavers nor falters as you wait for me to turn back to you, even if you have to wait for years. Thank you, Lord, for being constant in love and for always being good to me. Your mercy endures forever!

Father, nothing I do causes your love to fade, for you are love, and you are unchanging. You are relentless in your pursuit of me, and you never grow tired of waiting for my return. Your love never stumbles at my offense but, rather, paves the way for me to come back to you. You never hesitate to embrace me when I do approach you once again. Thank you, mighty God, you who are faithful and tireless, for your mercy endures forever!

Lord, I can love you because you first loved me. Because of your constant mercy toward me, I am learning what love really looks like. By letting your mercy soften and melt my heart, I can love you in return. And when I am filled and enlivened by that love and mercy, I can share it with the people around me. Your love for me and my love for you can spill over into the lives of my family, my neighbors, my co-workers—even my enemies. Thank you, Father, for you love endures forever!

“This is my heritage, Lord. I am your child, walking in your light and being filled with your life. Thank you, generous, loving Father, for your kindness endures forever!”~WAU

About gemdk

I am a cradle Catholic who made my first Holy Communion over 5o years ago at All Saints Catholic Church in Houston,TX in 1961. Went to Mass every Sunday as a child and teen and then young adult. Fell away for about 12 years in the late 80's, early 90's and then realized what was missing in my life was my Catholic upbringing and faith. Found my home at Sacred Heart in Crosby. Filling up the void I had for those 12 years in more ways than I can imagine, loving every minute of it. But this blog is not about me as much as it is for me and anyone who wants/needs to hear the word of God. I'm merely the instrument God uses to post the readings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

